Is This Our Year?

After a disappointing season 2 years ago, the Washington Capitals made some big changes in the off season. They hired head coach Barry Trotz and promoted Assistant General Manager Brian MacLellan to General Manager. That summer, they boasted the back line  by bringing in Brooks Orpik and Matt Niskanen. These moves were some of the best I had seen in a while. Really since the 2010 season. GMBMac then made more moves at the deadline. Trading for forward Curtis Glencross and blue liner Tim Gleason. Many people said the Caps were “in position for a deep run.”

I thought so too. I knew it would be hard to beat the Rangers. I was genuinely excited for this postseason. Really since my first playoffs in 2008. After a well fought 7 game series against the Islanders, I thought we could stand a chance. When Joel Ward scored with 1.3 seconds,  I thought to myself, “Wow, this could be the year.” As we all know that is not what happened.

You might be asking yourself, what is this article about. Well here you go. Last week, the Caps went out and shocked us all. The Caps signed Justin Williams, aka Mr. Game 7, for 2 years and 6.5M. The next day, GMBM traded Troy Brouwer, Phoenix Copley (Hershey`s projected starter), and a third round pick. 

Fans responded with all different kinds of reactions. One person who had not been keeping up said, “Is this fact or fiction?” Other responses included, “Going to be a great season; jubilation; celebration; excitement; not scared of a game 7 anymore; sheer joy; finally a GM that can land the legit talent we need to put the Caps in the position to win!” You get the point.

I initially said, “Give the new management 3 years before we discuss how good they are.” Boy was I wrong. It only took 2 seasons for GMBM and the rest of the front office to earn my respect and trust.

I know June is far far away, with October 10 being far as well. I know injuries can and will happen. I know you need good team chemistry. I know you play the games on ice and not paper. With all that being said, I am very very excited for this upcoming hockey season.

About Brandon Alter

Sherwood High School class of 2017. Caps fan since birth. Read more from me at capitalsoutsider.com
This entry was posted in Caps, General News. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

